Built in: 1962
Bridge Length: 100'
Photo by Pat Cook
The bridge at the Seventh Day Adventist Academy near Milo is one-of-a-kind in Oregon covered bridge history. The covering certainly is not a structural necessity but fills an aesthetic need, as it is Oregon's only steel bridge housed in wood.
The World Guide Number now ends with a letter, indicating the span is not a true truss supported bridge.
Since 1920, residents had a covered bridge serving the academy across the South Umpqua River. When the wooden covered bridge was replaced with a steel span, the community felt it had lost a part of its identity.
The steel structure was then
modified to include the wooden housing, and
today the white covered bridge stands as a
reminder to the residents of their previous
The bridge is privately owned and maintained by the Seventh Day Adventist Church. The area was settled prior to the 1880s and the post office was established in 1884. Originally known as Perdue, the name was changed to Milo in 1923 when a community member suggested it be named Milo after her husband's birthplace in Maine.
The Milo Academy Bridge is one of only two covered bridges in the Oregon Covered Bridges Thematic Group which do not have a timber truss support.
From Canyonville travel east on Third Street and continue through Days Creek to the community of Milo. The bridge is located east of Milo at Milepost 20.5
Information provided by: Covered Bridge Society Of Southern Oregon..
Always Verify Driving Instructions.
Add More Information!
We Can Add More Information to this page, Click Here and supply your text info and we will add it in!
SouthernOregon.com does Not provide Directions and Info by phone.
BACK TO COVERED BRIDGES
This is a general information page. All profile information on is provided to users on an "as is" and "as available" basis without warranty of any kind either express or implied. See terms page if needed.